Home About Technology Travel Pictures
Deutsch Chapter 2

Flobo - an autonomous flying robot

Note: These pages are currently under revision. The project itself was abandoned due to problems with the self constructed model airplane. However, the statements made about requirements, navigation and simulation remain valid. Components, sensors and onboard computer are re-used in other projects. For information about the latest development see EasyBot.

1 Introduction

Flobo stands for Flying Robot and is a project to develop an autonomous model airplane (UAV, Aerial Robot). The following pages represent the ideas and concepts for the development of such an airplane and document the progress of development.

Since 1996 I concern myself with GPS and its application possibilities. I bought the "Motorola Oncore GT" GPS board in 1997 and experimented with it. Since flying model airplanes is another hobby, the idea developed to use GPS as navigational instrument for an autonomous model airplane. Back in this time I followed reports on the Aerial Robotics Competition carried out by teams of several universities.

In the meantime a lot has changed. There are now vendors of complete autopilot systems and autonomous airplanes applies meanwhile also outside the military, for example in the monitoring of motorways. Thus, Flobo will not be the first project of this kind, but to my knowledge there are currently only handful similar projects in Germany.

Contents:

1 Introduction
2 Requirements
  2.1 Values to be measured
  2.2 System Overview
  2.3 Sensor Requirements
  2.4 Requirements to the controlling components
    2.4.1 Servo Driver
    2.4.2 Controller
  2.5 Flight Plan
3 Navigation
  3.1 Reference Systems
  3.2 Fundamental Terms
    3.2.1 Position
    3.2.2 Attitude
  3.3 2D Maneuvers
    3.3.1 Heading for a given point
    3.3.2 Heading for a point from a given direction
  3.4 Notes
    3.4.1 Accuracy
    3.4.2 Prospects
4 Simulation
  4.1 Connecting to FlightGear
  4.2 Flight Path Visualization
5 Hardware
  5.1 Airplane
  5.2 Controller
  5.3 GPS
  5.4 IMU
  5.5 Sonar
  5.6 More Sensors
  5.7 Adapter Board
6 Links
08.02.2009, Achim Walther, Mail
Chapter 2

Start Person Technik Reisen Fotos
English Kapitel 2

Flobo - ein autonomer fliegender Roboter

Hinweis: Die folgenden Seiten werden gegenwärtig überarbeitet. Aufgrund von konstruktionsbedingten Problemen mit dem Flugmodell wird das beschriebene Projekt nicht weiter betrieben. Die Aussagen zur Naviagtion, Simulation sowie zu den verwendeten Komponenten haben aber weiter Gültigkeit. Informationen über die aktuelle Entwicklung finden Sie unter EasyBot.

1 Einleitung

Flobo steht für Flying Robot und ist ein Projekt, aus dem irgendwann mal ein selbständig lenkendes Modellflugzeug werden soll (UAV, Aerial Robot). Diese Seite soll die Ideen und Konzepte für die Entwicklung eines solchen Flugzeuges darstellen und den Fortschritt beim Bau dokumentieren.

Seit 1996 beschäftige ich mich mit dem Thema GPS und dessen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten. 1997 kaufte ich mir das "Motorola Oncore GT" GPS-Board und experimentierte damit herum. Da Modellfliegen ein weiteres Hobby von mir ist, entwickelte sich die Idee, GPS als Navigationsinstrument für ein autonomes Modellflugzeug zu benutzen. Bereits 1995 gab es in den USA einen Wettbewerb fliegender Robotor, an denen vor allem Teams von Universitäten teilnahmen. In den folgenden Jahren wurde es ruhiger bis ich Anfang 2004 die Idee wieder aufnahm.

Inzwischen hat sich auf diesem Gebiet schon eine Menge getan. So gibt es z.B. Anbieter von kompletten Autopilot-Systemen und Autonome Flugzeuge finden mittlerweile Anwendung auch außerhalb des Militärs, Beispielsweise in der Überwachung von Autobahnen. Flobo wird also nicht das erste Projekt dieser Art sein, aber zumindest gibt es meines Wissens in Deutschland zurzeit nur eine Handvoll ähnliche Projekte.

Inhalt:

1 Einleitung
2 Anforderungen
  2.1 Zu messende Größen
  2.2 Überblick
  2.3 Anforderungen an die Sensoren
  2.4 Anforderungen an die Steuerungskomponenten
    2.4.1 RC-Relais
    2.4.2 Controller
  2.5 Flugplan
3 Navigation
  3.1 Bezugssysteme
  3.2 Grundbegriffe
    3.2.1 Position
    3.2.2 Bewegungsrichtung
  3.3 2D-Manöver
    3.3.1 Ansteuern eines vorgegebenen Punktes
    3.3.2 Ansteuern eines Punktes aus einer gegebenen Richtung
  3.4 Anmerkungen
    3.4.1 Genauigkeit
    3.4.2 Ausblick
4 Simulation
  4.1 Anbindung an FlightGear
  4.2 Visualisierung der Logdaten
5 Hardware
  5.1 Flieger
  5.2 Controller
  5.3 GPS
  5.4 IMU
  5.5 Sonar
  5.6 Weitere Sensoren
  5.7 Adapter-Board
6 Links
08.02.2009, Achim Walther, Mail
Kapitel 2