Home About Technology Travel Pictures
Deutsch

PPM Switch

The I2C servo switch has been applied successfully for several years in various prototypes of the Flobo project. Despite its functional reliability its disadvantage is an extremely limited operating range. The cause is most likely interference of the main computer Gumstix, which is electrically coupled into the I2C bus and thus affects the sensitivity of the R/C receiver. In an appropriate test much greater distances were achieved when the Gumstix was switched off, or at least in idle mode (no read / write on flashdisk).

The main requirement for next version of the servo switch therefore was the electrical isolation between the autopilot and R/C circuit and hence a significant increase in range. Additional requirements were:

  • maximize the reuse of the receiver components, servos remain plugged in the receiver
  • remain functional on autopilot malfunction
  • protection against UAV hijacking from a different remote control

Concept

The solution presented here is based on bypassing the PPM signal from the receiver, decoding, synthesis, and subsequent feeding back into the receiver. The galvanic decoupling happens on the way from and back to the receiver.

Block diagram of R/C receiver and PPM-switch (figure similar to the illustration of the paparazzi project)

The figure shows that the PPM signal must be tapped in the receiver at the right place. In particular, note that the PPM switch does not create a separate sync signal (reset for decade counter). So the signal must be injected before the "Synchro Blank Detection" logic. This can sometimes be a problem, e.g. if the signal is processed via parallel tracks inside the receiver.

It is also evident from the figure that opto couplers require voltage supply from both sides - from autopilot circuit as well as from the R/C circuit. Receiver and switch are therefore connected via 4 cables. In addition, a miniature relay ensures that the receiver remains functional in case of a autopilot power failure - at least in remote control mode.

Circuit

The circuit consists of the following components:

  • ATmega88 for decoding and synthesis of PPM signal
  • Two opto coupler type HCPL 0710 (5V CMOS compatibility, 40 ns maximum prop. delay)
  • Miniature relay DIP 9051-D
  • Two SMD LEDs for status display
Circuit Schematic (Eagle)

The circuit will be operated very close to the receiver. Thus the board was designed following the recommendations from Atmel (see Atmel Application Note "EMC Design Considerations"). Ground plane and power plane, exclusive use of SMD components and signal lines as direct as possible reduce radio interference. On the software side further noise reduction can be reached by switching off unneeded modules of the microcontroller.

Board (Eagle)

Software

Contrary to the servo switch C (WinAVR) is now used as the programming language. The software has 3 main tasks:

  • Analysis of the incoming PPM signal
  • Sending a valid PPM signal, depending on the internal state
  • Communication via I2C bus

Basis for signal analysis and synthesis is Timer1 with 16 bit resolution. Prescaler and clock speed are configured to make timer values available directly in microseconds. Incoming signal edges are captured by hardware (ICR1) and outgoing pulses are also generated by hardware using the output capture (OCRA1). The main program consists simply of a busy loop, where changes in timer registers are regulary checked and accordingly processed. The benefit of this loop is avoiding too many global variables and saving of some clock cycles that would be necessary when executing interrupt service routines (ISR). Only I2C communication is currently processed using interrupts. However, interrupts would have the advantage of enabling the controller to go in sleep mode, so this option will be considered for future improvements.

Pulse lengths measured by input capture are assembled to a PPM frame which is validated by several rules. These rules define the minimum / maximum length of the sync blank / the servo pulses and the total length of the frame. Depending on the availability and validity of incoming PPM signals, the presence of I2C commands and the switch settings on the remote control (e.g. servo channel 7) the internal state of the PPM switch is determined. This state then dictates the data source from which the pulse lengths for the outgoing PPM signal are taken. The next figure shows the internal state and all state transitions.

State model

Meaning of the states in detail:

  • NoRC - no reception or no valid signal - autopilot control
  • Auto1 - switch position 1 - autopilot control
  • Auto2 - switch position 2 - autopilot control
  • Remote - switch position 0 - remote control (human)
  • Failsafe1 - no reception and no autopilot command - all servos in neutral position (EEPROM)
  • Failsafe2 - valid PPM frame, switch on Auto, but no autopilot command - manual control

I2C communication is mainly used for reading actual servo positions (PPM switch -> Autopilot) and for writing target servo positions (autopilot -> PPM switch). Additionally signal quality data and default positions can be exchanged. Here is the list of all commands implemented so far:

  • 0x80 (default): read all R/C servo positions starting with the status byte
  • 0x84: read all servo target position (auto mode) starting with the status byte
  • 0x88: read all servo neutral position starting with the status byte
  • 0x8C: read statistics: status byte, average frame length (2 bytes), number of valid frames (2 bytes), number of invalid frames (2 bytes)
  • 0xAA: set a single servo position, fast drive (n=servo chanel 1-7): AA nx xx
  • 0xBA: set a single servo position, soft drive: BA nx xx
  • 0xA0: set all servo positions (s: 0=fast, 1=soft): A0 sx xx sx xx sx xx sx xx ...
  • 0xD0: set all servo neutral positions (stored in EEPROM): D0 0x xx 0x xx 0x xx 0x xx ...

Additional features

If a valid PPM signal is applied by the remote control, the software tries to synchronize the outgoing signal with it. The temporal offset is 2.2 ms, i.e. lever positions of the remote control are passed to the servos without delay.

Comparision of input signal (top) and output signal (bottom) in Remote state

The flashing of the LEDs indicate the internal status. Green: 1x = Manual, 2x = Auto1, 3x = Auto2, Red: 1x = Failsafe1, 2x = Failsafe2, 3x = NORC. A state transition occurs not immediately at the first invalid or valid frame, but only when a configurable number of corresponding frames has been exceeded. This is to prevent that short-term glitches result in an immediate state transition.

Integration

As mentioned earlier, there is the difficulty of tapping the signal path in the receiver at the right place. Thererfore, a detailed circuit and signal analysis is necessary in advance. This has been done for the Graupner C19 receiver. After several failed attempts the solution results in the following minimum operation: Pin 13 (Enable) of the 4017 decade counter should be separated from the PCB, e.g. using a thin copper wire. This separates the clock input from the PPM signal. Similarly, the sync logic (reset of 4017) must be separated from the PPM signal by desoldering a 100 Ohm resistor (101), rotating it by 90 degrees and soldering it back to the PCB single sided. The now open end of the resistor is then connected to pin 13 of the 4017 by a short wire. This connection now forms the entrance to the manipulated PPM signal. The C19 uses inverted PPM signals - a new servo pulse starts with a LH edge. Thus the software must be configured to recognize the negative edges.

Modification of the Graupner C19 receiver and combination with PPM switch

Prospects

After laboratory tests ran successfully, the circuit will now be tested in real life. Especially interest lies in determining whether the electrical isolation really does have a significant range increase. If the interference of the Gumstix will still affect the reception, an alternative for the main computer probably needs to be considered.

Complete control of the PPM signal offers the possibility of encryption of the remote control signals. If an encoding circuit was installed on the transmitter side, the PPM signal could be manipulated within bandwidth limitations. The use of this could be on the one hand to protect a UAV from hijacking, where the hijackers use a normal uncoded remote control. This would be a useful feature for long distance flights outside the reach of your remote control (Note: flying out of sight is not allowed in most countries). In the case of two remote controls using the same frequency the aircraft will not necessarily be controllable but can at least not be manipulated by others - whether intentionally or not. On the other hand, manipulation of the whole PPM frame including sync block allows for additional data transmission of some 100 bit/s.

Schematic illustration of encoding of the radio transmission

An alternative to the galvanic decoupling of the PPM signal persists in the decoupling of I2C bus. This would have several advantages, including the relay becoming obsolete - after all, it consumes about 30-40 mA. In addition, the I2C bus on the R/C side could be further exploited, e.g. for measuring voltage, currents and engine RPM. Perhaps an opto-coupled I2C bridge will be the next project presented here ...

Download

Eagle Schema:ppmswitch.sch
Eagle Board:ppmswitch.brd
AVR Source Code (version 1.02):switch.c
Graupner C19 Schema (partial):c19_part.sch
C19 PCB, labeled:C19_schemaparts.jpg
03.01.2010, Achim Walther, Mail

Start Person Technik Reisen Fotos
English

PPM-Switch

Der I2C-Servoswitch wird bereits seit einigen Jahren erfolgreich in verschiendenen Prototypen des Flobo-Projekts eingesetzt. Trotz seiner Zuverlässigkeit ergibt sich durch seine Anwendung allerdings auch der Nachteil der extrem eingeschränkten Empfängerreichweite. Die Ursache sind sehr wahrscheinlich Störsignale des Hauptrechners Gumstix, die galvanisch über den I2C-Bus eingekoppelt sind und so die Empfindlichkeit des RC-Empfängers beeinflussen. Zumindest konnten in einem entsprechenden Test sehr viel größere Reichweiten erreicht werden, wenn der Gumstix ausgeschaltet war oder zumindest im Idle-Mode (keine Lese-/Schreibzugriffe auf Flashdisk).

Die nächste Version des Servoswitch sollte also als wichtigstes Feature eine galvanische Trennung zwischen Autopilot und R/C-Stromnetz und damit eine deutliche Steigerung der Reichweite haben. Weitere Anforderungen waren:

  • Größtmögliche Wiederverwendung der Empfängerkomponenten, Servos bleiben im Empfänger
  • Funktionsfähigkeit bei Nichtverwendung / Stromlosigkeit / Ausfall Autopilot
  • Optional: Schutz vor Hijacking des Flugmodells durch fremde Fernsteuerung

Konzept

Die hier vorgestellte Lösung basiert auf dem Abgreifen des PPM-Signals im Empfänger, dessen Decodierung, Synthese und anschließendem Wiedereinspeisen in den Empfänger. Die galvanische Entkopplung geschieht dabei auf dem Weg vom bzw. zurück zum Empfänger.

Blockdiagramm RC-Empfänger und PPM-Switch (Abbildung ähnlich der Darstellung des Paparazzi-Projekts)

Aus der Abbildung geht hervor, dass das PPM-Signal im Empfänger an der richtigen Stelle entnommen werden muss. Insbesondere muss beachtet werden, dass der PPM-Switch kein separates Sync-Signal (Reset des Dekadenzählers) erzeugt. Also muss das Signal vor der Generierungslogik des Sync-Blanks eingespeist werden. Dies kann mitunter ein Problem darstellen, wenn das Signal im Empfänger über parallele Wege verarbeitet wird.

Weiterhin ist in der Abbildung ersichtlich, dass zum Betreiben der Optokoppler neben der Schaltungsspannung (Autopilot-Stromkreis) auch die Versorgungsspannung des Empfängers benötigt wird. Empfänger und PPM-Switch sind also über 4 Kabel verbunden. Zusätzlich sorgt ein Miniaturrelais dafür, dass der Empfänger bei Ausfall der Spannung des Autopilot-Stromkreis funktionsfähig bleibt - zumindest im Fernsteuerungsmodus.

Schaltung

Die Schaltung besteht im Wesentlichen aus folgenden Komponenten:

  • AtMega88 zur Decodierung und Synthese des PPM-Signals
  • Zwei Optokoppler vom Typ HCPL 0710 (5V CMOS kompatibel, 40ns max. Delay)
  • Reedrelais DIP 9051-D
  • Zwei SMD-LEDs zur Statusanzeige
Schaltplan (Eagle)

Weil die Schaltung sehr nah am Empfänger betrieben werden soll, wurde beim Entwurf des Boards auf Elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit (EMV) geachtet. Mit Groundplane und Powerplane, ausschließlicher Verwendung von SMD-Teilen und möglichst direkte Leiterbahnführung wurde versucht, den Empfehlungen von Atmel zu folgen (siehe Atmel Application Note "EMC Design Considerations") und Funkstörungen gering zu halten. Softwareseitig können weitere Störquellen durch Abschalten nicht benötigter Module des Mikrocontrollers vermieden werden.

Board (Eagle)

Software

Als Programmiersprache wird im Gegensatz zum Servoswitch jetzt C (WinAVR) eingesetzt. Die Software hat 3 Hauptaufgaben:

  • Analyse der ankommenen PPM-Signale
  • Senden eines validen PPM-Signals, Inhalt abhängig vom internen Status
  • Datenaustausch über I2C-Bus

Basis für die Signalanalyse und -synthese ist der Timer1 des AtMega mit 16 Bit Auflösung. Taktfrequenz und Prescaler sind so konfiguriert, dass Timerwerte direkt in Mikrosekunden vorliegen. Eingehende Signalflanken werden hardwaregestützt durch das Input Capture Register (ICR1) erfasst, ausgehende Pulse werden ebenfalls hardwarenah mittels Output Capture (OCRA1) generiert. Das Hauptprogramm besteht demnach einfach aus einer Busy-Loop, in der regelmäßig auf Veränderungen der Timer-Register geprüft und entsprechend reagiert wird. Die Vorteile dieser Loop sind das Vermeiden zu vieler globaler Variablen und das Einsparen einiger Taktzyklen, die beim Ausführen von Interrupt-Serviceroutinen (ISR) notwendig wären. Lediglich die I2C-Kommunikation wird derzeit über Interrupts gesteuert. Eine Umstellung auf vollständige Interruptsteuerung hätte allerdings den Vorteil, den Controller zwischendurch in Sleep-Modus zu versetzen, weshalb diese Option für spätere Verbesserungen in Betracht gezogen wird.

Die durch Input Capture gemessenen Pulslängen setzt das Programm zu einem PPM-Frame zusammen und validiert diesen anhand einiger Regeln. Diese Regeln schreiben die minimale / maximale Länge des Sync-Blockes / der Servo-Pulse sowie die Gesamtlänge des Frames vor. Abhängig von der Verfügbarkeit und Validität der eingehenden PPM-Signale, dem Vorliegen von I2C-Kommandos sowie der Schalterstellung an der Fernsteuerung (z.B. Servokanal 7) ergibt sich der interne Status des PPM-Switch. Dieser Status legt dann fest, aus welcher Datenquelle die Pulslängen für das ausgehende PPM-Signal genommen werden. Die folgende Abbildung veranschaulicht die internen Status und die Statusübergänge.

Statusmodell

Die Status bedeuten im Einzelnen:

  • NoRC - kein Empfang bzw. kein valides Signal - Autopilot steuert
  • Auto1 - Schalter Stellung 1 - Autopilot steuert
  • Auto2 - Schalter Stellung 2 - Autopilot steuert
  • Remote - manuelle Steuerung mittels Fernsteuerung
  • Failsafe1 - kein Empfang und kein Steuerkommando vom Autopilot - alle Servos auf programmierte Neutralstellung (EEPROM)
  • Failsafe2 - valider PPM-Frame vom Sender, Schalter auf Auto, aber kein Steuerkommando vom Autopilot - manuelle Steuerung

Die I2C-Kommunikation dient hauptsächlich zum Auslesen der Servo-Istpositionen (PPM-Switch -> Autopilot) sowie zum Setzen von Servo-Sollpositionen (Autopilot -> PPM-Switch). Zusätzlich können auch Daten zur Signalgüte gelesen und Defaultpositionen geschrieben und gelesen werden. Hier die Liste aller bisher implementierten Kommandos:

  • 0x80 (Default): Auslesen RC-Werte aller Servos beginnend mit dem Status-Byte
  • 0x84: Auslesen der Soll-Werte (Auto) beginnend mit dem Status-Byte
  • 0x88: Auslesen der Neutralstellung aller Servos (beginnend mit dem Status-Byte)
  • 0x8C: Lesen von Statistikdaten: Status-Byte, durchschnittliche Framelänge (2 Byte), Anzahl valider Frames (2 Byte), Anzahl invalider Frames (2 Byte)
  • 0xAA: Setzen eines Einzelservos, normaler Modus (n=Servokanal 1-7): AA nx xx
  • 0xBA: Setzen Einzelservo, Softdrive: BA nx xx
  • 0xA0: Setzen aller Servos (s: 0=Normal, 1=Softdrive): A0 sx xx sx xx sx xx sx xx ...
  • 0xD0: Setzen Neutralstellung aller Servos: D0 0x xx 0x xx 0x xx 0x xx ...

Weitere Features

Sofern ein gültiges PPM-Signal der Fernsteuerung anliegt, versucht die Software, das ausgehende Signal damit zu synchronisieren. Der zeitliche Versatz beträgt dabei 2,2ms, d.h. die Hebelstellung der Fernsteuerung wird fast ohne Zeitverlust an die Servos weitergegeben.

Eingangssignal (oben) und Ausgangssignal (unten) im Status Remote

Das Blinken der LEDs zeigt den internen Status an. Grün steht für 1x=Manuell, 2x=Auto1, 3x=Auto2, Rot steht für 1x=Failsafe1, 2x=Failsafe2, 3x=NoRC. Ein Statusübergang findet nicht sofort beim ersten invaliden bzw. validen Frame statt, sondern erst wenn eine konfigurierbare Anzahl entsprechender Frames überschritten wurde. Dies soll verhindern, dass kurzzeitige Störungen sofort zum Umschalten des Status führen.

Integration

Wie schon angedeutet, besteht bei der Integration die Schwierigkeit, im Empfänger die Signalstrecke an der richtigen Stelle aufzutrennen. Im Vorfeld ist daher eine eingehende Schaltungs- und Signalanalyse notwendig. Dies wurde für den Empfänger C19 von Graupner durchgeführt. Nach einigen Fehlversuchen ergab sich folgender minimaler Eingriff: Pin 13 (Enable) des Dekadenzählers 4017 muss von der Leiterplatte getrennt werden, z.B. mit der Kupferlackdraht-Methode. Dies trennt den Takteingang vom PPM-Signal. Ebenso muss die Sync-Logik (Reset des 4017) vom PPM-Signal getrennt werden, indem ein 100Ohm-Widerstand (101) ausgelötet, um 90° gedreht und einseitig wieder angelötet wird. Das nun offene Ende des Widerstandes wird mit Pin 13 des 4017 durch einen kurzen Draht verbunden und bildet nun den Eingang für das manipulierte PPM-Signal. Das Signal ist im C19 übrigens invertiert, d.h. ein neuer Servopuls wird durch eine HL-Flanke gestartet. Die Software muss entsprechend auf das Erkennen negativer Flanken konfiguriert werden.

Modifikation des Empfängers Graupner C19 und fertige Kombination mit PPM-Switch

Ausblick

Nachdem die Labortests erfolgreich verliefen, muss die Schaltung nun im echten Einsatz geprüft werden. Vor allem interessiert dabei, ob die galvanische Trennung wirklich eine spürbare Reichweitensteigerung bringt. Sofern die Störstrahlung des Gumstix dann immer noch den Empfang beeinträchtigt, muss wohl ernsthaft über eine Alternative des Hauptrechners nachgedacht werden.

Die vollständige Kontrolle der PPM-Signale bietet potenziell auch die Möglichkeit der Verschlüsselung der Fernsteuersignale. Sofern auf Senderseite eine Codierschaltung vorhanden wäre, könnte das PPM-Signal beliebig manipuliert werden - natürlich im Rahmen der Bandbreitenbeschränkung. Damit könnte zum einen - wie schon oben angeführt - ein UAV vor Hijacking geschützt werden, sofern der Hijacker eine normale, uncodierte Fernsteuerung benutzt. Dies wäre ein nützliches Feature für Flüge mit großer Entfernung vom Startplatz, ausserhalb der Reichweite der eigenen Fernsteuerung (Achtung: in den meisten Ländern ist das Fliegen ausserhalb der Sichtweite nicht erlaubt!). Bei Überlagerung von zwei Fernsteuerungen würde das Flugzeug zwar nicht unbedingt steuerbar, aber zumindest nicht von Fremden manipulierbar - ob nun mit oder ohne Absicht. Zum anderen liessen sich aber bei geschickter Ausnutzung des Sync-Signals zusätzliche Daten übertragen, wenn auch mit einer Rate von wenigen 100 Bit/s.

Schematische Darstellung der Codierung der Funkübertragung

Eine Alternative zur galvanischen Entkopplung über das PPM-Signal besteht weiterhin in der Entkopplung des I2C-Bus. Dies hätte einige Vorteile, u.a. wäre das Relais zur Umschaltung der PPM-Leitung überflüssig - schließlich verbraucht es allein ca. 30-40 mA. Weiterhin könnte der I2C-Bus auf der Seite des R/C-Stromkreises weiter ausgenutzt werden, z.B. zur Messung von Spannung, Stromstärken und Drehzahlen. Vielleicht wird ja eine Optokoppler-I2C-Bridge das nächste hier vorgestellte Projekt...

Download

Eagle Schema:ppmswitch.sch
Eagle Board:ppmswitch.brd
AVR Source Code (Version 1.02):switch.c
Graupner C19 Schema (Teil):c19_part.sch
Foto C19, beschriftet:C19_schemaparts.jpg
03.01.2010, Achim Walther, Mail